Pierrette Dubé

Pierrette Dubé

Pierrette Dubé became a translator after studying Literature and Translation.

At the same time, she wrote and published over fifty children’s books with various publishers. They are mostly albums, but also short novels for young readers. Some of her books have been winning prizes, namely the 2007 Prix Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles for children's literature and the 2015 Prix des libraires du Québec. Her characters, if sometimes related to fairy tales’ characters, also portray children dealing with the little problems of their everyday life, as well as funny animals and objects, which never lack for personality! In her albums, she often uses rhymes, while fantasy and humor are never far away.

Now that she has given up translating, Pierrette Dubé has been devoting more time to her writing and to meetings with children.

- - - - - - - - - - -

Books for Baby… What a great program it is to give a book to a little one while opening, at the same time the doors of a library! The gift of a book to a small child allows him to discover the pleasures of handling this mysterious object, of carrying it around, of abandoning it and then picking it up again; of nibbling on it sometimes, of turning its pages to move forward or backward; of putting it with authority into the hands of mum or dad, of sitting next to one of them, waiting for their voice to rise and for the story to begin: a moment of closeness between the child who listens and the parent who reads aloud.

Needless to say that I was extremely honored to be invited to write a text for the Books for Baby program. The “children, books and libraries” threesome has always occupied a very important place in my life.  As a child, if it hadn’t been for public libraries, I would have had no access to books and I probably would not be writing today.  Without them, I would have been unable to read so many books to my children and it would probably not have occurred to me to start writing myself.

I am always delighted to discover the illustrations that go along with my stories, and this time is no exception. Little Thomas, as conceived by Catherine Petit, is truly irresistible. The very simple story was inspired by a situation that recurs frequently in homes with young children. It’s naptime but Thomas won’t have any of it! Let’s bet that he has a few tricks up his sleeve to escape the dreaded nap. And why not turn it into a game? Hide-and-seek is a game, isn’t it?


Photo: Chantal Lecours

Catherine Petit

Pierrette Dubé

Catherine was born in Montreal in 1981.  She wasn’t born with pencils in her hands but almost!  From many artists in her family, she inherited a passion for artistic and manual work, expressed through illustration, painting, sewing and making jewelry.

After studying plastic arts and presentation design, Catherine started her own mural painting business in which she is still active. While continuing to paint murals, Catherine studied Law and officially became a lawyer. After wearing suits and high heels in downtown high-rises, she finally realized that her happiness truly lay in her papers and pencils.

In 2016, Catherine signed the illustrations for her first children’s book: Une bestiole à l’école (Éditions de l'Isatis). Since then, projects have kept coming and Catherine has illustrated more than twenty children's books and novels. Illustrator and muralist have now become her true professions!

- - - - - - - - - - -

When my three children were babies, I confess to spending long hours in bed with them and with a lot of books.  We had no other purpose than alternating feedings, cuddles, stories and naps.

What a joy then to be asked to illustrate an album intended for babies upon their subscription to the library! Knowing that my illustrations will find themselves into all those tiny hands is truly an honor. 

Books are not only precious but they allow for wonderful moments of closeness between the parent who reads them and their baby. Public libraries are full of treasures and of countless worlds to be discovered and shared with one’s family.

I had a wonderful time savoring the charming story of Thomas unwilling to take a nap and being caught up by sleep.  When I first read Pierrette’s manuscript, I was immediately touched by this funny, tender, and beautiful story. With sweet and expressive illustrations, I tried to evoke the comforting cocoon we wish to give our babies.  I’m really looking forward to sharing this album with you!


Photo: Jeanne Vincent

Pierrette Dubé

Pierrette Dubé

Pierrette Dubé a étudié en lettres puis en traduction avant d’exercer le métier de traductrice.

Parallèlement, elle écrit des livres pour les enfants. Elle a publié plus d’une cinquantaine de livres chez divers éditeurs, principalement des albums, mais aussi de courts romans pour jeunes lecteurs. Certains de ses livres ont remporté des prix, notamment le Prix Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles de littérature de jeunesse 2007 et le Prix des libraires du Québec 2015. Si ses personnages sont parfois parents avec ceux des contes de fées, il lui arrive souvent de mettre en scène des enfants aux prises avec de petits problèmes de la vie quotidienne, de drôles d’animaux et même des objets qui ne manquent pas de personnalité! Dans les albums, la rime est souvent présente, et la fantaisie et l’humour ne sont jamais bien loin.

Maintenant qu’elle a délaissé la traduction, Pierrette Dubé consacre davantage de temps à l’écriture et aux rencontres avec les enfants.

- - - - - - - - - - -

Une naissance un livre… Quel beau programme que celui qui consiste non seulement à faire cadeau d’un livre à un tout-petit, mais aussi à lui ouvrir, du même coup, la porte d’une bibliothèque! Donner un livre à un jeune enfant, c’est lui faire découvrir le plaisir de manipuler cet objet mystérieux, de le trimballer, de l’abandonner puis de le reprendre; de le mordiller parfois, d’en tourner les pages pour avancer ou pour revenir en arrière; de le mettre avec autorité entre les mains de papa ou de maman, de s’asseoir à ses côtés, puis d’attendre… que sa voix s’élève et que l’histoire commence. C’est rendre possible ce moment de complicité entre l’enfant qui écoute et le parent qui lit à voix haute.

Inutile de dire que j’ai été extrêmement honorée que l’on m’invite à écrire un texte pour Une naissance un livre. Le trio « enfants, livres et bibliothèques » a toujours occupé une place importante dans ma vie. Sans les bibliothèques publiques, je n’aurais pas eu accès aux livres quand j’étais enfant, et je n’écrirais sans doute pas aujourd’hui. Sans elles, je n’aurais pas lu autant de livres à mes enfants et je n’aurais sans doute pas songé à en écrire à mon tour.

Je suis toujours émerveillée de découvrir les illustrations qui accompagnent mes histoires, et cette fois ne fait pas exception. Le petit Pépin créé par Catherine Petit est irrésistible. L’histoire est toute simple et s’inspire d’une situation qui se répète fréquemment dans les maisons où il y a de jeunes enfants : c’est l’heure de la sieste, mais Pépin ne veut pas se coucher! Parions qu’il a plus d’un tour dans son sac pour échapper au dodo obligatoire et, pourquoi pas, en faire un jeu… Car la cachette, c’est un jeu, pas vrai?


Photo : Chantal Lecours

Catherine Petit

Pierrette Dubé

Catherine est née à Montréal en 1981, sans crayon dans les mains, mais presque! Plusieurs artistes de sa famille lui ont transmis la passion du travail artistique et manuel à travers l’illustration, la peinture, la couture et la joaillerie.

Après des études en arts plastiques et en design de présentation, Catherine démarre son entreprise de peinture murale dans laquelle elle travaille toujours. Tout en poursuivant la réalisation de murales, Catherine étudie le droit et devient officiellement avocate. Il lui aura fallu porter des tailleurs et des talons hauts dans les tours du centre-ville pour finalement réaliser que son bonheur se trouvait bel et bien dans ses papiers et ses crayons.

En 2016, Catherine signe les illustrations de son premier album jeunesse Une bestiole à l’école (Éditions de l’Isatis). Depuis, les projets s’enchaînent et Catherine a illustré plus d’une vingtaine de livres et de romans jeunesse. Illustratrice et muraliste sont aujourd’hui ses vrais métiers!

- - - - - - - - - - -

Quand mes trois enfants étaient petits, j’avoue avoir passé de longues heures au lit, avec mes bébés et plusieurs livres, avec pour seul objectif d’alterner tétées, câlins, histoires et dodos.

Quel bonheur donc d’illustrer un album destiné à être offert aux bébés lors de leur abonnement à la bibliothèque! Savoir que mes images se retrouveront entre toutes ses petites mains est un honneur.

Les livres sont précieux et offrent de magnifiques moments de tendresse entre le parent qui les raconte et son bébé. Les bibliothèques publiques regorgent de trésors qui deviennent autant d’univers à découvrir et à partager en famille.

Un temps précieux à savourer cette histoire charmante de Pépin qui joue à ne pas faire sa sieste, mais que le sommeil rattrape. Dès ma première lecture du manuscrit de Pierrette, j’ai été touchée par cette histoire tendre, drôle et belle. J’y ai ajouté mes illustrations douces et expressives en désirant évoquer ce petit cocon de réconfort qu’on souhaite offrir à nos bébés. Au plaisir de partager cet album avec vous!


Photo : Jeanne Vincent